In Gratitude

I woke this morning and drew a breath of clean, sustaining air, stood on legs that held me securely on a floor that I did not build. With eyes that still can see, I made my way down stairs with balance enough to keep from falling. I was greeted by a little dog wagging with joy to be alive, knowing no other way to be, and happy to see me. The melodies of waking birds awoke my ears, and I was able to step outside and feel cool ran drops on my skin. I have the comfort to know my family is safe and protected, as I sit in silence to read and pray. I am relatively free from pain, and I can look at life with a radiant hope because the light of God has risen in my heart, and darkness has not overcome it. I can rise, live this day, and lie down to sleep at night knowing that I am eternally loved and free, and nothing can change that. I have a purpose and a calling that is greater than my weakness and mistakes. I’m forgiven, embraced, and empowered. Pondering all of this brings me to my knees with humility and gratitude for nothing that I have done or have deserved, but for what has been done unto me in compassion, mercy and generosity. A heart so full has no choice but to sing.

2012-03-23 18.32.16

6 thoughts on “In Gratitude

  1. Reblogged this on Walking on Broken Glass and commented:
    I am amazed at how my Touchstone in Medicine can put words to my feelings. I felt exactly the same way when I wok up this morning; joy in my heart and spirit. I ran powered by words from a very heroic friend who has guided my running and soul at times. Such gifts I don’t deserve for which I am grateful.

  2. Had to reblog this one because these words speak volumes to my heart and spirit. Thank-you for your inspiration.

  3. I love this so much and I used those you tweeted on 24th May,2017 ..”Today, I’m hoping for greater……to continue your journey of “In gratitude.” above and complete the whole process of your beautiful & factual thoughts of life. This was how I usually deciphered the thoughts of my Theologian in our face book for almost 10 over solid months together. All my answers to his aphorisms (short./long) have been nicely tagged into his timeline. What I have shared over from your timeline have been nicely deciphered and privately kept in my timeline for my references and reflections. TQ God bless Dr Daniel!

    25th May, 2017
    MC

Leave a Reply

