So, What is Lester’s Legacy?

Recently I’ve been reflecting on the essential lessons contained within my father’s story of artistic creativity in the throes of Alzheimer’s. Though the story teaches much in the realm of dementia care, it shares larger life truths, as well:

–Beauty and truth in you begets beauty and truth in me, and vice versa.
–Authenticity is more beautiful than perfection (a late and hard-earned lesson for me).
–Believing in one another helps (enables) us to become our true (best) selves.
–We become our true and authentic selves in relationship with other true and authentic selves, and the product of such relationships paints the world in beautiful colors.
–When, with fearless compassion, we touch our own wounds and the wounds of others, transformation will occur.

In his book, The Road to Character, David Brooks speaks about resume virtues (those qualities we put forth to achieve outward success), and eulogy virtues (those qualities that emanate from the core of our being, like honesty, kindness, and integrity), the latter often developing through hardship. I don’t know about you, but in the past, I’ve spent too much time cultivating resume virtues at the expense of eulogy virtues. With God’s help, that pattern has changed.

Lester’s story of beauty, courage and triumph of spirit through suffering leaves us many gifts. But the greatest for me, and one that I’m enabled and called to share with others, is this: Lester – his life, art and story – has unlocked my inner artist, my True Self, the part from which emit any eulogy virtues I may have (though, in honesty and humility, at times I’ve done a poor job of showing them).

That’s what the world needs from all of us, our greatest gift. True colors. Authentic selves. Our very souls.

Collectively, humanity can’t afford to lose one single hue from God’s color palette.

So, what is Lester’s Legacy?

Me. You. And the art of our broken but beautiful lives well-lived and shared.

Thank you, Papa, for having the undaunted courage to sing your soul song, and for helping me find the courage to sing my own.

17191217_2061026250790786_7342767720228384765_n

 

Leave a Reply

