I am Here

I am here.

Always be sure,

when dark days lighten

with a certain glow you

may have spotted in my eyes

at times, and later looked for in

other faces that you’ve come to know,

I am here.

Always believe,

when on canvases

of winter gray you look

for any splash of color

bleeding through to prove this setting

is life’s rising to eternal day,

I am here.

Always be kind

remembering the

warm embrace of love we

shared, though some day you may find

it hard to bring to view my face,

you’ll smile for others, and look above…

I am here.

(Watercolor by Lester E. Potts, Jr., an artist with Alzheimer’s)

2 thoughts on “I am Here

Leave a Reply

