Lent

What a gift.
He invites me to walk with Him.
Not behind. Beside.

Why me?
What does He see within my waters?
Surely He knows I can’t do it apart from Him.
I can’t, and wouldn’t if I could.
The Champion gives up His gold to run with me,
one who falls back.

I’m close enough to touch His robe.
Will He know my touch, that it is mine?
Will He feel power moving out of Him
to take faith’s feeble hand?
Will I be changed on contact?

The miracles. My God!
They move my soul to wholeness.
Will He weep for me in death and raise me up in Glory?
Will I believe and anoint Him with my life perfume?
Will the scent of it be pleasing in His courts?

The palms. I would like to lay down more.
Please, God. Make evil miss.
Help me not betray.

He wants to wash my feet.
I hide the dirty parts of me and deal with them alone.
But He washes, all the same.

He offers Kingdom wine.
Blood-red. Too fine for my being.
My lips touch the Cup.
I kiss the spike wound in His Flesh.
My soul grows full on dead Death.

I can’t go with Him there, can I?
I am so weary and afraid.
Afraid I never believed at all.
The sound shakes my inmost part.
His agony is real to me.
Forever in a moment.
We are scattered, each alone.
Will I deny? Can my eyes lock in His gaze?

I cannot walk His way, the way of Death to Life.
Too weak am I to bear a cross.
Can I be a Mother’s son He cannot be, for Him?

DSC07140

One thought on “Lent

  1. It took a couple of reads and reflection but you have captured my questioning in my pursuit of the ministry. In this Lenten season, I strive to reflect on the essence of my faith and follow as closely as I can but your last 11 lines say everything that I constantly pray to overcome; the fear that I will not be believed or ever “good enough”. Still, I pray for clarity and to keep the best in my heart that I can. Thank you for these wonderful verses.

Leave a Reply

