New Glasses

I can’t explain it.

Words won’t do.

Reading and sharing,

I’ve encountered it before,

never understanding.

The clouds came in –

rumblings and flashes –

storms without and within.

I thought it would be safe here.

People were injured.

I was among them.

Confused, I made wrong turns.

And fell. And cried.

And died. The first time.

Still, I looked up.

Light must make shadows, I thought.

Then there was the turning.

Tender green things grew.

Shut spaces opened.

Light streamed in,

then out from here.

I can’t explain it.

Words won’t do.

But I know this:

Light came in a dark cloud.

Now I’m starting to see.

Like a sun-struck leaf after rain,

everything…

everything shines out

with the Light of God.

Does this mean

the Kingdom has come?

I’ll wait and see.

Leave a Reply

