Tethering

Tethering

In order to show mercy to others and be an agent of healing for them, I have to, at some level, be able to see my own impoverishment and need of mercy and healing. I have to stop dividing and start unifying. I can no longer label as “lame” or “whole.” I can only label as “present.” I must see myself and others in the same light, of the same substance, with the same needs, in the very same field, from the same home, headed in the same direction on the same road, held in the same embrace. Seeking to know, forgive and love myself is seeking to know, forgive and love others, and both are seeking to know and love God. Then follows union, the one great tethering of the Spirit, which I believe to be the meaning and goal of life.

If mercy and healing are to pass through me to others

they must first coat my wounds.

The parted must be unified.

Labels, “lame” and “whole”

become only, “present.”

I must see myself and others

in the same light,

of a shared substance,

with similar needs,

in a common field,

from one home,

headed in the same direction,

held in universal embrace.

Seeking to know, forgive and love myself

is seeking to know, forgive and love others.

Both are seeking to know and love God.

Then follows union, one great tethering of the Spirit,

the meaning and goal of all life.

Leave a Reply

