She Came In, Singing

(For all who make visits)

 

She came, oh, she came in singing!

I needed to go, to get out of here.

These are not my people.  I have to go home.

But her, I’ve seen her.  I’ve heard that voice…

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine…”

 

Daddy’s here with me. 

He brought me a sucker from Donald’s store. 

Grape!  My favorite. 

You make me happy when skies are grey…”

 

We went riding in the country at sunset.

I rolled down the window for a honeysuckle symphony!

It sweeps over me.  The rolling pasture grasses with their dotted cows.

A fly or two, barely spotted in the lazy late day haze.

 

You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you…”

Each tire whirls a dust cloud on this shadowbox of day.

Then we took up our vantage for the sunset show.

It never leaves us wanting.  But we do want, still.

I pick up a speckled rock or two. 

Fireflies lift a curtain for the night shift.

 

Please don’t take my sunshine away

I’m down the road a bit now.

Daddy’s car moves on the face of the red clay sun.

I reach out for him, and she takes my hand.

And we dance.  We move together to the sun’s conducting.

It sets over my house, down behind the back porch under the hill.

And I know these folks.

And everyone is singing.

And I sing, too.

One thought on “She Came In, Singing

Leave a Reply

